Law Offices of John A. Guthrie
Free Initial Consultation 925-271-4342

Child Support Archives

Making a child support agreement

When California parents of young children get a divorce, one will in most cases be required to pay child support to the other. There are a few ways in which child support may be decided. The parents might negotiate with one another, often with the help of their respective attorneys, and reach an agreement. There may be a more formal process of alternative dispute resolution that still takes place outside of court. In cases where the divorce is contested, the judge presiding over the trial will make the determination.

Child support and TANF payments

For some California parents who pay or receive child support, the funds may move through the state's disbursement unit. The SDU is responsible for child support payments that are done through income withholding from a parent's employer. The responsibilities of the SDU are to receive and identify the payments and to disburse them to parents within two days of receipt. The exception to this two-day rule is if there are arrears that are in dispute.

Rapper Flo Rida sued for child support for the second time

Hip-hop fans in California likely know Tramar Lancel Dillard better by his stage name Flo Rida, and they may be aware that the 37-year-old rapper and songwriter became embroiled in a paternity and child custody dispute with a woman in September 2014. The woman sued Dillard claiming that he had made her pregnant and urged her to get an abortion, and a court-ordered paternity test subsequently proved him to be the father.

Child support payments after a child is emancipated

In most cases, a California noncustodial parent is required to pay child support until a child reaches the age of majority, which generally is 18. However, there are some situations where a child may decide to become emancipated, which means that they no longer require the support of their parents, and children may become emancipated as early as age 14 in some cases.

How child support is affected if a parent becomes disabled

If a California parent relies on child support to help pay for a child's shelter, education and medical costs, it can be a cause for concern if the noncustodial parent who is required to pay child support suddenly becomes disabled. However, parents should be aware that, generally, a disability should not prevent a parent from paying some, if not all, of the child support that they were court-ordered to pay.

Stopping child support payments

Parents in California are responsible for ensuring that their children receive the financial support they are entitled to until they reach the age of majority. However, in situations in which there is a child support order in place, the receiving parent may request that the child support payments stop.

Dean McDermott threatened with jail time in child support case

In a California courtroom on March 9, entertainer Dean McDermott, the husband of actress Tori Spelling, was read his Miranda rights and threatened with jail time. McDermott was taken to court by his ex-wife, Mary Jo Eustace, with whom he has an 18-year-old son.

Fathers who pay more child support spend more time with children

California children whose fathers are behind in child support payments may also spend less time with those fathers according to research published in the Journal of Marriage and Family. The study looked at nearly 5,000 families over nine years and based its findings on how much child support the child was receiving and how much contact the child had with their father at the age of nine. More than 1,000 noncustodial fathers were included in the study.

Trump leaves Obama's child support changes untouched

Some California parents may be pleased to learn that the Trump administration has not yet interfered with an executive order by Barack Obama that changed the way some states collect child support payments from parents who are imprisoned. The new rule took effect on Jan. 19.

Past due child support rarely goes away

In California, noncustodial parents are generally required to make child support payments until a child turns 18. In some cases, support payments continue until a child is 19 if he or she is not yet out of high school. However, if a parent owes back child support, he or she is still required to make those payments regardless of how old that child is.